Community ( + reading)

Uncategorized

I read. A LOT.  I spend my days in a library; a mecca of learning. When I read a book, the world fades away and I am transported into a world that is partly created by me. My own interpretations and perceptions color the authors written words.

La liseuseThe Reader, by Jean-Jacques Henner (1829-1905)

La liseuse   The Reader, by Jean-Jacques Henner (1829-1905)

This is true for any fiction I read, whether it be adult or young adult. When I read non-fiction, I am in Explorer Mode – complete with bifocals + a pillow to rest on as I journey into another persons experiences and knowledge.

I am a book club advisor. I assist students in the selection of books that our club will read throughout the year. The books each have a single purpose- to leave the reader with *more* than they had before the book was read. The messages are positive, inspiring and offer each student a wide space to stretch out and experience the book and any messages it brings them.

Book clubs provide something spectacular. When people gather to discuss a book, community is created. Also created, is an important circle of exchange.  The exchange of insights, experience and opinion is how we grow as people; community is important.

Your Sacred Self is not a school nor is it a reading group but it is a community created by those in the Wummin House. A place where each journey is experienced and witnessed and not taught. Oh, learning happens… oh wow does learning happen.

CircleHands-428x150

How?

Organically. That is how.

Here, at Your Sacred Self, we offer Experientials; opportunities to explore, experience and share insights. Each of us in the Wummin House learn from one another in this safe + sacred space. It’s a natural community.

How I just went from book clubs to the Wummin House escapes me at this moment… LOL… but evidently I felt the need to share. 🙂

Love, Nessa

Btw…. Here’s the list of books that have been selected for the current year.

book_hearts

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Bruiser by Neal Schusterman

Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen

The Future of Us by Jay Asher  + Carloyn Mackler

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Legacy of Luna by Julia Butterfly Hill

The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

Leave a Reply

